top of page
Search

"The Post"

Okay friends. I have seen this post shared numerous times around the net and I have issue with it. Major issues. For the following reasons:

1) BYU is a university, not a mosque (or temple or other holy site). So the comparison is flawed from the get go.

2) Asking for modest attire is not comparable to sexual orientation. Asking someone to put on a head covering or wear long pants is not the same as asking someone to repress their feelings of affection towards someone.


3)This Honor Code drama is NOT the student's fault, friends! Read and understand what happened. The section on homosexual behavior was removed and students were told by the HCO that indeed those actions were no longer prohibited. Then those actions were walked back by a statement from CES. To say the students were "confused" is NOT the reality.4) Lastly, BYU students are not "toursits" to a site not part of their religious heritage. THEY ARE PART OF US. I have seen it written hundreds of places in regards to LGBTQ students, "if they don't like it, they can leave"---NO. NO NO NO NO. As a BYU alumna and as BYU faculty, I am making the plea to my gay brothers and sisters---PLEASE DONT LEAVE. Why are we asking our beloved brothers and sisters to leave? Can we not still sit at the same table and partake of the goodness of Christ together, while still working through these difficult issues? There will always be space in my home, in my classroom, and next to me on a pew at my church for my LGBTQ friends and family. ALWAYS.

258 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page